Holiday Cookie Exchange: Raspberry Almond Shortbread Thumbprints

I was invited to a cookie exchange this past weekend – each person makes a batch of cookies to share and everyone leaves with a great assortment of holiday treats.  I knew that I wanted to make my friend Trinity’s famous Raspberry Almond Shortbread Thumbprint cookies, so once I scored the recipe from her I got to work!

*I apologize in advance for my crappy Blackberry photos! 😀

Raspberry Almond Shortbread Thumbprints

The recipe claims to make 3 1/2 dozen cookies, but I made two batches as they yielded only about 1 1/2 dozen each for me.

Cookie

  • 1 cup Land O Lakes® Butter, softened
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon almond extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup raspberry jam

Glaze

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 – 3 teaspoons water
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons almond extract

Combine butter, sugar and 1/2 teaspoon almond extract in large bowl.

Raspberry Shortbread ThumbprintsBeat at medium speed, scraping bowl often, until creamy. Reduce speed to low; add flour. Note to high altitude peeps – I added two extra tablespoons of flour. Beat, scraping bowl often, until well mixed. Cover; refrigerate at least 1 hour.

Heat oven to 350°F. Shape dough into 1-inch balls. Place 2 inches apart onto ungreased cookie sheets. Make indentation in center of each cookie with thumb (edges may crack slightly). Fill each indentation with about 1/4 teaspoon jam.

Raspberry Shortbread Thumbprints BakingBake for 14 to 18 minutes or until edges are lightly browned. Let stand 1 minute on cookie sheets; remove to wire cooling rack. Cool completely.

Combine all glaze ingredients in small bowl with wire whisk until smooth. Note: I added about two extra teaspoons of water to make the glaze the consistency I preferred.

Drizzle over cookies.

Raspberry Shortbread Thumbprint Cookies GlazeLet the glaze dry completely and the cookies are ready to go!

Raspberry Shortbread ThumbprintsThese cookies were right up my alley – amazingly tasty, easy to make, and called for very few ingredients.  They were a huge hit at the cookie exchange and I will definitely make them again!

2 thoughts on “Holiday Cookie Exchange: Raspberry Almond Shortbread Thumbprints

Leave a Reply

