An Idiot’s Guide to Sewing a Coat Button

I recently found myself in a fashion predicament: a few buttons on my favorite coat popped off.  My experience in sewing was limited to my middle school home-ec class, but I was determined to fix my buttons myself without a trip to the local alterations shop.

Luckily, I was able to find an easy, step-by-step guide online.

What you need:

  • A basic hand sewing needle
  • A double threaded thread, knotted
  • Button(s)
  • Jacket or coat


The video is easy to follow and sewing the buttons back on my coat was quick and harmless!  This is definitely a useful skill you will be able to use again and again in the future.

Leave a Reply

